Print Page | Sign In | Register / Create a Profile
2016 Award Winners

The National Awards were presented at the 2016 NAEP Annual Meeting in San Antonio at a luncheon on Wednesday afternoon, May 25th. NAEP values all of our volunteers. We thank all of our volunteers and award winners for your time, expertise and dedication to NAEP. We are pleased to announce the 2016 NAEP National Award Winners:

Bert C. Ahrens Award:

Valerie Rhodes-Sorrelle, Senior Strategic Sourcing Specialist, Grand Valley State University

I know that I have said this before but I’ll say it again… “Get involved and stay involved in your association … Do your best and you will be your best”.


Neil D. Markee Communicator of the Year Award:

Karen Harthorn, Associate Vice President of Procurement, University of St. Thomas


Distinguished Service Award:

Jennifer Miracle, Contract Manager, Kentucky Community & Technical College System


Jennifer Adling, Director of Procurement Services, Texas Tech University


Judy Rees, Director of Purchasing, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University


Young Professional in Procurement Award:

Houcine Chraibi, IT Procurement Officer University of Nebraska - Lincoln



Alex Orosz, Purchasing Manager, Duquesne University


Sara Luther, Sourcing Manager, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Professional Perspective Award:

Nancy Brooks, Interim Assistant Vice President for Business Services, Iowa State University

Her article is entitled "Promoting Procurement to Internal and External Customers" and can be found it the 2015 Summer issue of the Educational Procurement Journal.


Nancy Tregoe Scholarship Award:

Kevin Holmes, Assistant Vice President of Budget & Finance, Oklahoma State University - Tulsa



Bob Ashby Mentor of the Year Award:

Sandy Hicks, Associate Vice President & Chief Procurement Officer, University of Colorado



Volunteer of the Year Award:

Debbie Deacy, Director of Purchasing, Procurement & Receiving, University of LaVerne


Tonia Lawson, Director of Procurement & Asset Management, Troy University


 Sandy Benoit, Purchasing Assistant, University of Richmond


NAEP 2016 Sons & Daughters Scholarship Winners:

James Beasley, Texas A&M University - College Station

James is the son of Terri Beasley, University of Texas Medical Branch.


Colin Harthorn, University of St. Thomas

Colin is the son of Karen Harthorn, University of St. Thomas.

NAEP National Office, 8840 Stanford Boulevard, Suite 2000, Columbia, MD 21045

Phone Number: 443.281.9901 • Fax: 443.219.9687

Copyright © 2020 National Association of Educational Procurement. All rights reserved.
Report Broken Link | Privacy Policy