Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Press Release

The Haas Scholarship - This Is Big!

Tuesday, September 19, 2017   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Shane Boyle

NAEP is pleased to announce that beginning in 2018, every NAEP region will be eligible to receive a $1,000 William E. Haas Scholarship. 

Over 30 years ago William E. Haas, former Procurement Officer at Duke University, spearheaded a campaign for a scholarship fund to help NAEP members attend professional development courses. For many years, NAEP distributed $1,000 on a rotating schedule to our regions each year so that each could disperse the funds in various amounts to deserving candidates interested in advancing their professional development.

Our national Scholarship Committee has worked diligently over the course of many years to build a sustainable Haas scholarship fund so that one day we could award scholarship money to every region, ever year. That day has finally arrived.

What Does This Mean for You?

Beginning in early 2018, watch for more details on how you can apply for this scholarship through your particular region. Each region is free to divide the scholarship into smaller amounts to create multiple scholarships. Your regional leaders will also develop their own criteria on which to judge applications along with due dates.

You can use the Haas Scholarship to pay for your NAEP specific in-person Institutes, the national Annual Meeting, and/or your local regional or district meeting. This scholarship can also cover the associated expenses like hotel and airfare associated with attending these meetings.

Thank You

NAEP thanks the members of our volunteer Scholarship Committee, past and present, for their incredible hard work over many years. If you have attended a national Annual Meeting in recent years, you may have seen our volunteers working hard behind the scenes organizing the raffle that benefits the scholarship programs. It is through their tireless dedication that NAEP is able to achieve a long-standing goal!

Our current 2017-2018 Scholarship Committee:

  • Tom Youngs, University of Pittsburgh (Chair)
  • Carol Barnhill, Arkansas State University - Jonesboro
  • Karen Gross, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Breanna Klett, Biola University
  • Judy Rees, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Mikki Sandin, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Judy Schaffer, E&I Cooperative Services, Inc.
  • Duane Tucker, University of Colorado (Past Chair)

NAEP Board of Director representatives:

  • Laura Baessler, formerly of Wilmington College
  • Mike McNamara, Northeastern University


Lisa Deal says...
Posted Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Wow! This is terrific news! Thank you!

NAEP National Office, 8840 Stanford Boulevard, Suite 2000, Columbia, MD 21045
Tel: 443.543.5540 • Fax: 443.219.9687

Copyright © 2017 National Association of Educational Procurement. All rights reserved.
Report Broken Link | Privacy Policy